• Royalty demands special treatment from the rest of society without offering anything valuable in return.  I don’t want my kids aspiring to special treatment they don’t merit.
  • People who are born into royalty have their roles chosen for them before they understand what a role is.  I want my kids to find out who they are through the hard work of learning and growing, not grab the first artificial role that crosses their paths.
  • The princess culture that targets young children (especially girls) idolizes superficial vanity.  I want my kids to understand that they are beautifully and wonderfully made.  My kids need to know that while pretty accessories are fun, they don’t add value to a human being.  Makeup, jewelry, shoes and plastic surgery might change how a person looks, but they don’t add value to a human being.  Virtue, knowledge, skills and experience all add value to human beings. Changes in appearance are no substitute for those things.
  • Princess culture places a high value on girls’ physical appearance and marriageability and low value on their personal abilities and character.  In almost every princess movie, the princess is sexually appealing and any other characteristics are bonuses.  I want my kids to value people more than bodies.
  • Most princesses are depicted waiting around for a prince to save them from the boredom of life.  That’s not what I have in mind for my kids’ childhood, adolescence and early adulthood.  I spent those years growing as a person, and when I happened to meet a man who shared my ideals and goals, the two of us joined up to pursue those goals and ideals as a team.  We’re more effective together than we were as single people.  I hope all my kids find spouses the same way and never settle for being a leech or a host to someone who has spent his or her life waiting to be saved.
  • Princess culture is expensive.  If there’s a simpering, scantily clad airhead’s image on a package of pencils, you can expect to pay twice as much for it.  I choose not to give my money to people who hold up simpering, scantily clad airheads as role models for my kids.
