A good friend wrote this excellent post on women in combat.  I really love it, and I think you will, too.

Women in combat

 

I don’t know when I’ve felt more conflicted about a news item than I do about women being allowed into combat.  I’ve been reading debates on the topic since the story broke (which, by the bye, is a waste of time, no one has anything new to say) and I don’t feel any better about it.

On the one hand, since I was about seventeen and actually considered the topic, I’ve been strongly opposed to women in the military.  I think all the Tolkien and Lewis had rubbed off on me, and I was getting annoyed at how fantasy novels always make their heroines take up swords and be as tough as any man.  It felt — counterproductive.  If the best thing a woman can hope to do is beat a man in single combat with swords, we’re basically all screwed because 99% of us can’t do that.  I preferred fantasy novels in which women were mages, clerics, wise women, healers.  Those were things I felt I could identify more with.

Here, let me embarrass myself with an excerpt from a novel I was working on in college:

To read more, visit A Gift Universe

