4 of my 5 kids are on a no wheat, no corn, no soy diet because they have an auto-immune disease that causes their bodies to attack the intestines when those proteins are present.  No one seems to know anything about this condition except that it exists and the diet works, but experience tells me that it’s somehow related to the good and bad bacteria that exist in the GI tract.  When my kids have to be on antibiotics, all hell breaks loose in their digestive system, so I go to great lengths to help them heal ear infections etc. on their own.  Brother and Baby both had ear infections in the two weeks before Christmas, and Baby has been flirting with bronchitis, and the magic bullet that pulled us through was essential oil.  I first discovered essential oils when Sister was getting serial ear infections a couple years ago.  I started putting my ear mix in a hot bath for her several times a day, and the ear infections cleared up before they became a big problem.  Then I started putting her in the baths before the ears were infected, when she had a cold that I knew through experience would end in infection, and she hasn’t had an infection since.  This week, I nearly brought Baby to the doctor because her cough was keeping us both up all night and getting worse by the hour.  But then I did a little research, realized there were other oils that might be better for bronchitis, started using them, and voila!  She woke up only once that night and has been improving quickly. 

So here are my recipes –

Ears

10-20 drops each of

eucalyptus

orange

rosemary

clove

mixed in a couple tablespoons of olive or grapeseed oil.  Add to a warm bath and keep your kid in there as long and as often as you can, renewing the oils when they lose their strength.

*Lungs

10-20 drops each of

eucalyptus

rosemary

thyme

pine

cedarwood

mixed in a couple tablespoons of olive or grapeseed oil.  Add to a warm bath and keep your kid in there as long and as often as you can, renewing the oils when they lose their strength.

*I also gave Baby a half dose a day of an Osha, Lungwort, Yerba Santa, Inmortal, Elencampane, Black Cohosh and Yerba Mansa tincture.

I wish I had known about essential oils before I did so much damage to their little tummies.  Maybe this will help someone else!

