Since I recently renewed my whining license, I’ll go ahead and exercise my privilege with pregnancy gripe #13

The Apocalypse is nigh – seriously it’s right around the corner.  I know because it was foreshadowed to me today when E started crying when I sent her to feed the cat – “but I’m starving!” she moaned.

Usually I respond to this with, “guess how the cat feels – he hasn’t eaten since yesterday,” but today it was just like I was John in Revelation –  “And the beast which I saw was like unto a leopard, and his feet were as the feet of a bear, and his mouth as the mouth of a lion: and the dragon gave him his power, and his seat, and great authority.”  So I shut the door in E’s face and came inside to cry my own tears.

Back to business – our gastro-enterologist tells me that my kids have an as-yet-unnamed genetic disorder with the auto-immune reaction of Celiac Disease but tripled.  Instead of seeing only gluten as a foreign invader that must be immediately destroyed along with the surrounding tissue (such as the small intestine), my kids’ immune systems attack soy and corn as well (and maybe rice too), and the damage to their little digestive tracts has made them lactose intolerant.  We are making some progress on the lactose front – so far they seem to be able to handle one serving of milk per week without problems.  L has the worst trouble – always has, and so I have her, and by default everyone else, on a rotation diet of funky grains – teff, amaranth, quinoa, sorghum, buckwheat and gluten free oat.

I thought it might help someone else if I were to share a meal a week from our crazy diet… just in case one of my readers is dealing with the same problem.

Chicken Soup with Sorghum

1 cup whole sorghum

4 cans Swanson’s chicken broth

4 chicken thighs

2 cups white cooking wine

Whatever veggies you like.  I add the veggies of the day.  When I made this yesterday I put in

2 golden beets, peeled and sliced

6 small red potatoes, diced

4 carrots, peeled and sliced

a mess of green beans

Bring the chicken, broth, wine and sorghum to a boil.  Let simmer for 30 minutes (adding water to keep everything decently covered).  Remove the thighs to cool so you can skin and debone them.  Keep cooking the sorghum for at least another 30 minutes.

When the sorghum is tender, add the chicken back in along with potatoes and carrots.  Simmer for 20 minutes or until the veggies are almost tender, then add in the beets and green beans.

Sorghum Apricot Muffins

1 1/2 cups softened butter

1 cup sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 home-canned quart of apricots with juice (or 3 1/2 cups canned apricots with juice)

2 cups sorghum flour

1 cup sifted potato starch

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp nutmeg

Mix just like regular muffins – butter and sugar, then add eggs and vanilla, then fruit.  Sift dry ingredients together and mix well with wet ingredients.  Plop into muffin tins and bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes or so until tops spring back and are a nice brown color.

Bon Appetit!

